Blog Stats

Excerpt from “Taking Back the River.

“For years I carried around anger, guilt, and grief as a result of what I’d experienced being a soldier’s wife during the Vietnam War. After writing my story, I was able to release those feelings and to find some peace.”  Sheila O’Quirke, author of We’re in the Army Now

sheilaoquirke_BookCover6x9_BW_350COLOREDIT_2

I was 35 years old when I began to ponder questions like: “Who am I and what’s my purpose on this planet?” Up until then my identity was dependent on who I was in relation to everyone else. For years I struggled with demons. There were several suicide attempts; I saw death as the only way out of a miserable existence.

But at the age of 35 I recognized in me a thirst I’d never known; the need for a spiritual connection and a reason to live. The answers didn’t come overnight; in fact, I found that for me, the long road was the shortest way home. I’d invested so much time and energy into hating myself that it was hard to give that up. It kept me on a merry-go-round of addiction and recovery, spanning several years. But as I began the difficult work of grieving and facing myself, I was able to see the value-the gift-in having had such a rough life.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 374 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (August 3, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1512057851
  • ISBN-13: 978-1512057850
Leave a Reply

