Blog Stats

Excerpt from “We’re in the Army Now,” by Sheila O’Quirke

BOOK COVER FINAL-IN ARMY NOW 001

“For years I carried around anger, guilt, and grief as a result of what I’d experienced being a soldier’s wife during the Vietnam war. After writing my story, I was able to release those feelings and to find some peace.” Sheila O’Quirke , Author of We’re in the Army Now

I was the typical wife of a combat veteran. I couldn’t understand why Earnie was pulling away from me; why he would no longer communicate with me. I didn’t realize then, the impact that war could have on a soldier. But at the same time, I’d just lost my dad and needed the security of knowing that my husband was still there for me, emotionally. But he wasn’t. He couldn’t be.
Earnie and I began our journey together as a couple of kids, running away from something we didn’t quite understand. We were immature and wounded from the start, having suffered loss and trauma during our childhoods. We weren’t emotionally equipped to handle the stresses of being grown-ups and parents and being in the military. We were a disaster waiting to happen.
Product Details
  • Paperback: 44 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (January 2, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1523231955
  • ISBN-13: 978-1523231959
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.1 x 8 inches
Leave a Reply

