Blog Stats

Author: Debbie Dyke

Debbie Dyke is a novelist and businesswoman from Alexandria, Virginia, and has a background in military intelligence, the stock market, executive recruiting and writing.   An Army brat, she’s lived in Turkey, France, Germany, Italy, Albania and Holland. She graduated from the American High School in Naples, Italy then attending University of Maryland, Munich Campus.  She graduated from Georgetown University and holds a Bachelors of Science and Masters degree in National Security.  Debbie has two grown children, Lisa and Jordan and has been married to Michael for over thirty wonderful years. Debbie has written 5 screenplays, one Wall Street calendar and two novels.

“The Bloody Mary Club novel is based on my script optioned by a Hollywood Production company for an Emmy-winning actress. Of course, being an asset type of gal, I took the money and bought a mink coat! It was the only sensible thing to do with crazy Hollywood money. The Bloody Mary Club came inches from becoming a TV series. After seeing the waist high stacks of scripts in the producer’s office that were ‘in development’–   I took charge and turned my script into a novel. Two years later and after 17 rewrites, and agonizing advice from my two literary agents to ‘make it more ‘Sex in the city’, make it more ‘Desperate Housewives,’ with a hint of ‘scarier’,  I stopped listening to them and rewrote version 18  back to my original vision.  Just when the stars were about to align again, everything came to a halt with a surprising breast cancer diagnosis which – thank goodness – was caught in the early stages.  However, it caused me to lose my sense of humor and forget about my novel. It just wasn’t important any more.  Six years later my funny bone has come back and the Bloody Mary Club lives. So, to the A list Actress, the TV production company and my the two ex- literary agents and host of publishers who couldn’t make it happen in the midst of the  gloomy economic climate,  here it is – finally — for fun — and you know how to reach me! And darn this global warming, I only wish it would snow so I can wear my mink coat.” Debbie Dyke

 

Leave a Reply

